See-Through-Science

As I step up to the well lit, brick covered building, which is perched atop St. Edward’s University’s hill, I walk through the glass doors of the John Brooks Williams Center into a place where I feel unwanted. As I walk down the halls, I almost feel as if I have traveled back in time to an old, abandon warehouse. The walls are covered in a bland mixture of orange and yellow paint, which makes me more nauseous rather than calm… almost.

The walls, which should be covered in posters showcasing school pride and spirit, are instead covered in warm, purple tones with an occasional “Math Tutor Wanted” sign, nearly falling off from the insignificant amount of tape holding it up. Inside, it is so quiet that if I were to drop a needle on the ground, echoes would fill my surroundings. What feels like a constant flow of nearly below frigid air sends a shiver up my spine, almost as if the students and professors who once roamed these halls surrounded me.

 

As I continue to make my way through the clean and empty halls, made up of concrete, wood and glass, I come upon one glass case in particular. Framed in beige wood, it sits alone in a corner almost making you feel the lack of attention it receives. Filled with minimal amounts of pictures and memorabilia, which look like they came out of the early 1900’s, I am immediately brought back into reality.

 

The John Brooks Williams Center has a “see-through-science” design, where people who pass by can get a look into the classrooms to view what the students are doing. I realize that even though the halls seem cold and empty, all of the experiments, learning and experiences take place inside of the classrooms.

Posted on October 1, 2012, in ATX, October and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

For the Love of Food

"There is no love sincerer than the love of food." ---George Bernard Shaw

Eatocracy

If it tastes good, it IS good.

The Schleicher Spin

"I never know what I think about something until I read what I've written on it." -- William Faulkner

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

City Whitty 512

I write, I design, I report; I Austinize, I socialize, I journalize.

long story short

the Long Center, from Inside the Ring

Just the Spark

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars." -Oscar Wilde

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

jennsjamsatx

Entertainment journalist in Austin, TX. I love traveling/dining out/ exploring/ and MUSIC. Lovin' life in the live music capital. Austin, Texas

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Daizilla

Entertainment and Austin News

Y_Genertaiment

Music Capital of the World

