I believe in ghosts… I’m a dork

I’m actually really scared to be anywhere alone. Some of you are going to think I’m crazy, but ever since I was young I’ve had a connection and interest with the paranormal. I always feel as if someone is watching me. I know, I’m weird; but, in the spirit of Halloween I will share a personal, but very true, story that happened to me as a child, which, to this day, still gives me the chills when  I think of it.

 

Uncle John didn’t come home that night.

That’s where the night began.  Mary and I were fighting, per usual, about what movie to watch, Grandma June wouldn’t let us play outside because it was “too cold,” eventually gave us vanilla ice cream-with sugarcoated strawberries of course-and we snuggled into the couch to watch The Lion King.  As the three of us went upstairs to Grandma’s bed we all hear:

SLAM!

“Kathy, go check to see if that’s Uncle John.”

“Uh, ok Grandma” I said, hesitant to get out of bed in the pitch-black room.

No one was there.

“Uncle John?”

Nothing.  No response.  I felt a shiver and a tingle go up and down my spine, scurried back upstairs and jumped into bed as fast as I could.  I turned towards the middle of the bed where Mary was sleeping and cuddled into her while I drifted off to sleep.

I woke up in the middle of the night, which I normally don’t do. As I curled over to my right I opened my eyes slightly. I immediately froze. I couldn’t open my lips to scream. No sound was able to leave my mouth. I was utterly fixated with this being.

Lying next to me was a lady: an old lady with long, braided, grey hair, dressed in a long pink nightgown, was staring intensely at me. As I tried to take my eyes off of her, what felt like ice rubbing up the back of my neck instantly shook me out of my half-trance-like-stage, I slowly turned over and tapped my sister on her shoulder.

“M…M…Mary?” I barely squeaked out.

There was no response.

“Mary? Grandma?”

The only response I received was heavy breathing. I turned over again to see if she was still there… she was. She had not moved from her position and was still staring me dead in the eyes. I was entranced. I quickly shut my eyes and turned back over, cuddling up to my sister, hugging her for a mere ounce of comfort or safety.

That morning I woke up alone. My sister and Grandma had already gone downstairs to eat breakfast. As I stretch I suddenly remember the night before and sigh. I was relieved nothing was there.

“What happened last night,” I thought to myself? “Was that real? It must have been real and not a dream, because I was awake… I know for a fact that I was!” As I assumed, my parents didn’t believe me. They thought it was all a dream… I know otherwise.

Posted on October 27, 2012, in October and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

For the Love of Food

"There is no love sincerer than the love of food." ---George Bernard Shaw

Eatocracy

If it tastes good, it IS good.

The Schleicher Spin

"I never know what I think about something until I read what I've written on it." -- William Faulkner

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

City Whitty 512

I write, I design, I report; I Austinize, I socialize, I journalize.

long story short

the Long Center, from Inside the Ring

Just the Spark

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars." -Oscar Wilde

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

jennsjamsatx

Entertainment journalist in Austin, TX. I love traveling/dining out/ exploring/ and MUSIC. Lovin' life in the live music capital. Austin, Texas

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Daizilla

Entertainment and Austin News

Y_Genertaiment

Music Capital of the World

