Late Night Rants…Don’t Judge Me

As I am sitting here, pulling an all nighter in order to finish a paper, I decided to take a quick break to go on Facebook. It is a rare occasion that I find something to read that is completely worth my time. Someone who I barely know, but am friends with on Facebook, posted this:

“Hello. My name is JH. I am 20 years old, white, educated, and I have never wanted for anything. I have been blessed with everything that I could have ever wanted and more, yet I can sit here right now and clearly say, I am not happy. Today I have been hit with an overwhelming surge of sadness due to the total lack of empathy that people have displayed towards one another. Throughout the presidential election, I have been bombarded with rude, crass, ignorant, and even blatantly racist comments from individuals vying for their own personal beliefs; their own interpretations of what we, as a country, need to change in order to move forward. To these people I ask, “How can we as a country move forward, when you cannot give even your fellow countrymen the respect he or she deserves, not just as an American, but as a fellow human being?” Now I may be sheltered and I know I am painfully ignorant of the majority of the world’s current wants and needs, but I am a human being. And because of this, I know all I need to when it comes to understanding the desire to be heard and understood. The human element is the most extraordinary power on this earth. Yet that power is intangible and absolutely useless if we as a world cannot respect each other as individuals. So despite being lazy, ignorant, a hypocrite and taking day-to-day life for granted, I ask that you give me and everyone else the respect they deserve in order to make our world a better place.”

Now, I read this about three or four times considering it is almost 5 am and I am completely sleep deprived. It takes a lot, in my opinion, to write this, let alone publish it to the public via social media. However, it really got me thinking. We all know this is the truth, yet no one does anything about it. Most people are all talk and don’t take action based on what they say. Presidential elections are a perfect example of this. Candidates spend roughly four years campaigning and trying to win people over up until the very day of the election. I believe everyone has good intentions, for the most part; however, in order to survive in the political world, you have to play their dirty game in order to rise to the top. If you play the nice guy and don’t lie or cheat, then tough luck. You lose.

It’s a harsh reality, but we all lie in order to get what we want. It’s almost as if we don’t know how to not lie. Almost as if lying has become second nature, where we wont even realize we have lied until after the fact. The media does a great job of reinforcing this in our everyday lives whether we realize it or not. No one likes to lose, but then how could people not see Romney’s loss coming after thousands of memes and jokes were made towards him. It’s as if he was bullied on a school playground, and you could see the sadness in his eyes as he gave his speech after he found out he lost.

Now, I am not saying I am not at fault here. I have posted memes of him as well as laughed at things he said that were obviously taken out of context. However, after seeing comments posted and hearing about bets being placed, especially from those who really have no clue as to what each candidate had to offer, I can only hope for a day when Americans stop being so self absorbed and start respecting others for once. I know that’s a long shot, but I can still dream. So everyone please stop following what others do simply because you want to fit in and not be a part of that ‘losing’ party. God forbid, you actually come up with your own thoughts for once… gasp…

Parting words because I just went on a rant from lack of sleep… “don’t take life too seriously, you’ll never get out alive.” How I love Van Wilder… no but seriously. Stop worrying about losing or not fitting in; then again, don’t just try to barely get by in life either. If you want your voice to be heard, do something about it… just step out of the frame, take a good look, and ask yourself if you are happy with who you are and where you want to be. If you are, well, you’re lying unless you are 90 years old. We can always improve ourselves, even if its something little.

Posted on November 7, 2012, in November. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

For the Love of Food

"There is no love sincerer than the love of food." ---George Bernard Shaw

Eatocracy

If it tastes good, it IS good.

The Schleicher Spin

"I never know what I think about something until I read what I've written on it." -- William Faulkner

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

City Whitty 512

I write, I design, I report; I Austinize, I socialize, I journalize.

long story short

the Long Center, from Inside the Ring

Just the Spark

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars." -Oscar Wilde

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

jennsjamsatx

Entertainment journalist in Austin, TX. I love traveling/dining out/ exploring/ and MUSIC. Lovin' life in the live music capital. Austin, Texas

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Daizilla

Entertainment and Austin News

Y_Genertaiment

Music Capital of the World

